Back in Business

Remember how I said internet was a rarity overseas?  I wasn’t kidding.  I’ve been living in one of the most advanced industrialized countries in the world for a few weeks now, yet my internet access has been as spotty as attendance at a weekday Pirates game.

But, I have finally moved in to my dorm here in London!  The last weeks have been jam-packed with about everything we can handle.  After our program started on the 14th, we were introduced to living in the UK with a few days of presentations and whatnot, but were given the nights free to explore, so we were able to get around to different neighborhoods.

On the 19th, we started our homestay in Swansea, the second largest city in Wales (Note: Swansea’s population is 228,000).  I was placed with a very eccentric lady named Cynthia, and she took good care to direct me to the local places.  At Maggie Dick’s, her neighborhood pub, the owner bought us free drinks because he liked Americans!  And we went out to some The highlight of the trip was the Gower, a picturesque peninsula that we were given the day to explore.

After a few days in Swansea, we came back to London on the 22nd, and started the move-in week.  My floor has a guy from my program, two other Americans from other schools, a Chinese girl, a French girl, and some British “freshers” who are moving in as I type.  We’ve had our school orientation for the last few days, yet we still haven’t registered for classes yet…  Even after we moved in, our internet connection was off until we officially enrolled (yesterday), so I am FINALLY officially back in business.

More to come.  Just wanted to let you know that I’m alive.  And I’m keeping the dream alive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

