“The rain in Spain…”

While I didn’t encounter any rain during my Madrid adventure, I was faced with cold weather (I know, right?) that was for the most part unexpected – although the forecast called for temperatures in the 50’s, I believe that it was colder than in London.  The trip was amazing (as all my trips have been) because we had a personal tour guide again in the form of one of my travel partners’ friends studying in Madrid.  Friday consisted of walking around the city center, including the Royal Palace, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Gran Via, and a huge park where we revisited our childhood on the best (and most dangerous!) playground equipment I’ve ever seen.  That night, we visited the botanical gardens, the Prado, and the Reina Sophia, followed by a packed tapas bar with great food and drinks.  We went to a club that night in the Spanish style of staying out until the wee hours of the morning.  Sunday was a trip to El Escorial, a very old palace outside of the city with a breathtaking sunset that evoked my manic photographer phase to reappear, self-made bocadillos in a park, then dinner at an upscale restaurant that had the best duck I’ve ever eaten.  Sunday followed with a trip to the craziest street market I’ve ever seen, lunch at a great/famous paella place, then a quick stop at Plaza San Miguel for some great fresh fruit before heading back to foggy Londontown.

Last trip of the term = rousing success (once again, as all of them have been).  I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend!  I guess this means it’s back to work again… but the dream is still alive.

This entry was posted in UCL Fall 2009 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The rain in Spain…”

  1. Nancy Kennedy says:

    What a great time you are having….thanks for sharing all of these special times with us!!
    Love, Aunt Nancy

Leave a Reply

