Ghent/Antwerp

I will be posting the link to my “official” Fulbright blog post that I was asked to write by the Fulbright España Commission regarding my incredible week at the Fulbright Seminar on the European Union when it is complete, but I wanted to post some of my favorite pictures from my post-Seminar visits to Ghent and Antwerp.

After the Fulbright Seminar finished (with my additional Fulbright-Schuman Midyear Conference) on Friday morning, I was able to spend the weekend in Belgium to explore Belgium a bit more.  I chose to venture into more Flemish regions with trips to Ghent and Antwerp.  Both cities feature a history as a trading and merchant city, complete with stunning Gothic cathedrals, unique Flemish architecture, and an ancienne “master” artist – Van Dyck in Ghent and Rubens in Antwerp.  Ending this whirlwind Seminar in the smaller Belgian cities served as an interesting contrast to Brussels, with Brussels as the metropolitan “crossroads of Europe” and Ghent/Antwerp retaining their primarily Belgian culture.  Certainly a relaxing end to an unforgettable experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

